Check out real estate news updates

Construction Work For 5 Stations On Jurong Region Line To Commence In 2020

Two civil contracts for the construction of five MRT stations along the Jurong Region Line (JRL) has been awarded by the Land Transport Authority (LTA), with the construction works set to commence next year and completed in 2026.

The five stations are – Choa Chu Kang West, Choa Chu Kang, Tengah, Hong Kah and Corporation.

Valued at around $465.2 million, the contract for Choa Chu Kang West, Choa Chu Kang and Tengah stations has been awarded to Shanghai Tunnel Engineering Co (Singapore).

It include the construction of a 4.3km viaduct as well as “addition and alteration works to the existing Choa Chu Kang station on the North-South Line, to integrate it with the new JRL station”.

The $274.3 million contract for Hong Kah and Corporation stations, on the other hand, was awarded to Eng Lee Engineering and Wai Fong Construction.

In a release, LTA revealed that the joint venture is presently involved in the construction of Mount Pleasant station and tunnels along Thomson-East Coast Line (TEL).

Shanghai Tunnel Engineering Co (Singapore) is also involved in the construction of some stations along TEL.

Singapore’s seventh MRT Line, the JRL is set to open in three stages from 2026.

The 24km line will feature 24 stations, including three interchange stations at Choa Chu Kang, Boon Lay and Jurong East MRT stations – providing direct connectivity between the western and north-western regions of Singapore.

In the initial years, LTA expects the JRL to serve 200,000 commuters daily.

“This is forecasted to grow to more than 500,000 daily commuters in the longer term, once future developments in the area are realised,” said LTA.

More information visit:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *